The Enneagram Description

Share this

The Enneagram describes how we act in a situation. For example, do we seek to change a situation, or do we seek to maintain it as it is? Do we focus on the group and what other people do, or are we more focused on ourselves and “what we do”?

Is it more important to be happy or to perform well at something? Are we more focused on our home and where we act and live on an every day basis or are we more focused on life and on what is happening in the world around us?

Gut types

The four most important topics when understanding the gut types are group, individual, happiness, and performance. 

Hero (Group Happiness)

Utopian (Individual Happiness)

Ruler (Group Performance)

Reformer (Individual Performance)

Group refers to whether we focus on what we do together with other people or whether we focus on our personal actions in regards to something. A group type will involve others in something. 

Head types

The head types primarily care about the group or the individual, and about traditions or change. The head types want themselves or the group to go somewhere or to stay somewhere. 

Seeker (Group Change)

Sage (Individual Change)

Fighter (Group Traditions)

Friend (Individual Traditions)

The Change type is mainly focused on what can be done differently and what you can learn or adjust about something. Change types need a lot of novelty. Traditional types focus on how they can keep a situation together or maintain something the way it is. Traditional types need more recurring events and traditions. 

Instinct types

The instincts primarily revolve around home, life, change, and traditions. The instincts tell us what is happening in our own and other people’s lives. The instincts keep us updated to changes and old patterns and let us know if there is anything new or different going on. They seek to gain information and awareness of what is happening at home and to understand something. 

Magician (Change Drive)

Protector (Traditions Drive)

Lover (Service Change)

Everyperson (Service Traditions)

Drive types tend to focus on what they can do about something and rely primarily on intrinsic motivation. Service types tend to focus on what they can do for others and focus on the rewards they can get for doing a certain thing. 

Heart types

The heart types mainly care about the home or about life, and about performance or happiness. These types often ask themselves if they are happy or if they or others are performing well enough in the areas most important to their values. When they or others are struggling, they seek to offer advice or insight that can help solve the problem. 

Creator (Performance Drive)

Muse (Happiness Drive)

Performer (Performance Service)

Helper (Happiness Service)

Performance oriented individuals have a strong idea of how they can do better at something or what they can do to improve at a task. Happiness types are mainly focused with wanting to feel good about something. 

Share this
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments